Tags

,

I mentioned in my last post that I’m constantly switching workouts. I’ve been looking at Insanity for a while, so I finally saved up, sucked it up, and dropped the $145 + tax for the set. This week I received my copy of Insanity. If you haven’t heard of Insanity, you’re likely not a night owl who gets sucked into fitness infomercials. So what made me choose Insanity? I’ll explain:

Insanity Workout1. It’s different. I have zumba, kickboxing, Biggest Loser, dance, etc. DVDs and Wii games already – I was looking for a change and the max-interval training, 60-day program really appealed to me.

2. Insanity gets results. No, I’m not talking about the results I see on infomercials (I’m not that easy to sway). I talked to people I know who actually tried the workouts, did a lot of research, saw what the pros and cons were from people.

3. No additional equipment. This was a biggie for me. I spent a lot of money on the Insanity workout DVDs – I don’t want to be buying a ton of additional equipment. The only thing I did buy was a new pair of cross-trainers, which I needed anyway. Running shoes (my normal footwear) have too much traction to use for working out inside and they stick something horrible (which means my ankle goes but my shoes don’t…not good).

4. Time constraints. I’d narrowed my potential DVD buys down to Insanity and P90X and the fact that most Insanity workouts are 45 minutes really sold me. I’m short on time and have a short attention span. Combine this with needing extra equipment to go along with P90X, I picked Insanity over that.

5. Shaun T. I have Shaun T’s Rockin’ Body dance workout DVDs and I really like him as a trainer. He’s positive and encouraging without being cheesy. I find him to be energetic and motivating, but never to the point of being cloying or irritating.

I’m starting Insanity today, so I’ll provide updates as I go on my 9-week journey. I’ve already read through the meal plan suggestion guide they send with the DVDs and it’s a very sensible plan. It’s 40% protein, 40% good carbs, and 20% fats and the recipes they have sound good.

For more information on Insanity, check out the Beachbody.com website.

Words of caution: Insanity is hard on the body. When Beachbody says to check with your doctor before starting, they’re not kidding. I’m almost 100% certain I’ll have to modify some of the workouts until I get some weight off – I may be “going insane,” but I have no desire to damage my ankles any further. As with any exercise program, be careful and know your limits. There’s pushing past your comfort zone and then there’s pushing yourself to injury – know the difference and check with a professional if you have questions.

